Anatomy of a nephron

The nephron is divided into 6 distinct parts

  1. Proximal (covoluted) tubule
  2. Descending loop of Henle
  3. Ascending loop of Henle
  4. Distal (convoluted) tubule
  5. Cortical collecting duct
  6. Distal collecting duct

Each of these sections has a main function in adjusting the amount and kind of solutes in the urine. Different drugs and diuretics work at distinct areas, which is why some diuretics are potassium sparing while others (like Lasix/furosemide) are potassium wasting.

One thought on “Anatomy of a nephron

  1. Pingback: Where diuretics work in the nephron | Sketchy Medicine

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.